It is important to note that you cannot undo the changes after accepting to new terms. WhatsApp had recently told the Delhi High Court that it is not going to defer the May 15 deadline. This means users who have not accepted the new terms will lose features to the app over a span of time and not immediately.
In a statement, WhatsApp said it continued to engage with the Indian government and its update did not impact the privacy of personal messages for anyone. “No accounts were deleted on May 15 because of this update and no one in India lost functionality of WhatsApp either. We will follow up with reminders to people over the next several weeks,” a spokesperson said.
WhatsApp has said that the changes in the terms are related to optional business features and it does not impact private chat, which remains end-to-end encrypted.